St John's The United Reformed Church in Northwood

SERVICES

Dear friends

It has become clear to us all that the Coronavirus pandemic is not of our imagining.

The government advice we have is sufficient to suggest it is wise to limit wherever possible the spread of this virus by restricting unnecessary public gathering.

As Minister and in consultation with the Church Secretary and the Eldership I am advising that St John's URC, with respect to our normal Sunday worship, will be closed for the foreseeable weeks ahead. This decision falls in line with the thinking and advice of other denominations and in particular the views of our Synod leadership.

We have a duty of care, not just to one another, but to the community we serve and indeed many beyond.

As of this Sunday, 22 March our regular Sunday morning services of worship will cease, with the trust they will resume in due course.

The leadership team is working closely with our church administrator, Laura, to support and give guidance to our user groups, many of whom have already indicated that they too are standing down, given present circumstances.

With this decision there must come a sense of measured anxiety and concern. We will ensure we stay in touch, and in the true tradition of our family of faith, we will look out for one another. All of us are being asked to exercise caution and care, and courage.

Please, listen carefully for the advisories given by the government and observe this advice.

I stumbled upon this thought this morning and I share it; it captures something important and true:

Quarantine is a challenge previously unthought of by our Sages. It is lonely and depressing. Those feelings are natural and valid. All of us in quarantine are feeling them. But taken in the right way, it can provide time and opportunity to connect with God, rethink values and recommit to the priorities that are important to us.

Rabbi Uri Pilichowski 12 March 2020

These are unprecedented days, when all the human wisdom in the world is so much the richer if we seek and observe the wisdom of God.

Our teacher and healer knew about the unprecedented and his prayer is clear "Love one another"

PAX

James (and Sam!)

Service Times & Service Order

Our services are at 10:30 am and on the second Sunday of every month we celebrate the Lord's Supper. They also reflect the readings that appear in the lectionary.

Click to below to view/download previous order of services:

Sunday 15 March 2020

Sunday 8 March 2020

Sunday 1 March 2020

Sunday 23 February 2020

Sunday 16 February 2020

Sunday 9 February 2020

Sunday 2 February 2020

Sunday 26 January 2020

Sunday 19 January 2020

Sunday 12 January 2020

Sunday 5 January 2020

Sunday 29 December 2019

Sunday 22 December 2019

Sunday 8 December 2019

Sunday 1 December 2019

Sunday 24 November 2019

Sunday 10 November 2019

Sunday 3 November 2019

Sunday 27 October 2019

Sunday 20 October 2019

Sunday 13 October 2019

Sunday 6 October 2019

Sunday 29 September 2019

Sunday 22 September 2019

Sunday 15 September 2019

Sunday 8 September 2019

Sunday 1 September 2019

Sunday 11 August 2019

Sunday 4 August 2019

Sunday 21 July 2019

Sunday 14 July 2019

Sunday 7 July 2019

Sunday 30 June 2019

Sunday 23 June 2019

Sunday 9 June 2019

Sunday 2 June 2019

Sunday 26 May 2019

Sunday 19 May 2019

Sunday 12 May 2019

Sunday 5 May 2019

Sunday 28 April 2019

Easter - Sunday 21 April 2019

Sunday 7 April 2019

Sunday 31 March 2019

Sunday 24 March 2019

Sunday 17 March 2019

Sunday 10 March 2019

Sunday 3 March 2019

Sunday 24 February 2019

Sunday 17 February 2019

Sunday 10 February 2019

Sunday 3 February 2019

Sunday 27 January 2019

Sunday 20 January 2019

Sunday 13 January 2019

Sunday 6 January 2019

Christmas Day - 25 December 2018

Christmas Eve - 24 December 2018

Nine Lessons and Carols - Sunday 23 December 2018

Sunday 16 December 2018

Sunday 9 December 2018

Sunday 2 December 2018

Sunday 25 November 2018

Sunday 18 November 2018

Sunday 11 November 2018

Sunday 28 October 2018

Sunday 21 October 2018

Sunday 14 October 2018

Sunday 7 October 2018

Sunday 30 September 2018

Sunday 23 September 2018

Sunday 16 September 2018

Sunday 9 September 2018

Sunday 2 September 2018